Parker Love of Teaching and Lifelong Learning Award


Award Criteria:

  • The nominee is a current member of the Oakwood faculty and has taught in Oakwood for at least five years
  • The nominee has an established record of contagious enthusiasm for classroom teaching, known to be dedicated and patient with students, and is able to differentiate instruction and maximize students’ learning potential
  • The nominee demonstrates the ability to stimulate extraordinary accomplishments of students, including those of average abilities, as well as those of exceptional capabilities
  • The nominee builds confidence and self-reliance in students, and instills in them a desire to discover and learn
  • The nominee treats students with dignity and respect as persons with individual hopes, fears, pains, and histories, making efforts to know them as individuals
  • The nominee is an active contributor in the school district as well as the community in which they live and/or work
  • The nominee demonstrates through education, travel, research and other activities that they are active and involved in furthering their own personal skills and techniques.

For more information or to submit a nomination, please email [email protected] for a nomination form or click button to the right

What is the Parker Award?

Saying her family benefited in many ways from Oakwood’s outstanding school system and wanting to give back to the schools in a special way, former longtime Oakwood teacher Beverly Parker created the award in 2010 in memory of her late husband Robert Parker.

Since 2010, deserving teachers have received the award, consisting of a $1,200 prize, which is divided between the recipient and the teacher’s school, and framed artwork designed by an Oakwood High School art student.

Parents, students, community members, alumni, other faculty members and administrators can nominate teachers who meet the award criteria, which includes teaching in Oakwood Schools for at least five years. Nominations and letters of support are retained for one year. If a candidate is not selected as the winner, the nominator may simply submit the current nomination form and the candidate will be reconsidered.

The award consists of a $1,200 prize, which is divided between the recipient and an academic department, grade or program of the recipient’s choosing.


Past Winners

  • 2011 – Janet Block, Lange Kindergarten
  • 2012 – Kathy Allan, Oakwood Junior High and High School
  • 2013 – Tony Rainsberger, Oakwood High School
  • 2014 – Ran Nelson, Oakwood Schools
  • 2015 – Susan Kuntz, Harman School
  • 2016 – John Edwards, Harman School
  • 2017 – Nate Thompson, Smith Elementary
  • 2018 – Lynne Irwin, Smith Elementary
  • 2019 – Lori Morris, Oakwood High School
  • 2020 – Leslie Blythe, Oakwood Junior High School
  • 2021 – Tim Fleck, Harman School
  • 2022 – Kathy Kash, Smith Elementary
  • 2023 – Mary Haucke-Davis, Oakwood Junior High School